Day 12 at Camp

Today I woke up at 8:15 it is still pouring rain. Hasn’t stopped. The 2 day hikers are still leaving after lunch despite the rain. Crazy! Last night we helped Dirk, who was the master of the day, plan the events. I ended up being put in charge of a slip and slide in the rain. After breakfast, we discussed the days plans and Timi and Maria offered to help me with my activity. Maria ended up backing out, but Timi and I pulled it off. There was only one taker, a boy from Barbados, but it was totally worth it. Timi ended up sliding with him and later Natasha joined in as well. It poured rain and was cold the whole time. After that we made sure that he showered and warmed up. I wrapped up the activity and went to check out what some of the other activities were like. I ended up joining a card game. For the next activity, we transformed the dining hall into a hockey rink. We put all the benches on their sides to form barriers for the ball and set the tables around for seating. We first played Evolution, and then a version of hockey with no movement allowed.

Next we had lunch..soup. One of Timi’s tent girls was ill and fainted and later went to the hospital for observation. After lunch, we had siesta and then tent group time and the first 2 groups of hikers left for the 2 night hike. I tried to rest for a bit, but I was soaked and nothing was dry enough and it was too cold to leave the tent. After that I did some laundry in the bathroom sink and then joined my temporary tent group for some team building. While watching them attempt a fire with wet wood I felt something on my face and hit it off. It looked like a bee or something on the ground. I didn’t feel anything on my face except slight irritation like something had been there. I don’t know what is was but a big round bump formed on my cheek. I went to the office and showed them and also got my Camp Adventure Jacket for the rain. Lena told me it was probably a “Breme” or a German insect-like fly, a bee-ish thing with no stripes or a horsefly. I went to first aid and put some cream on it. It started to burn a little a become more noticeable to others, and the kids told me to put an onion on it. I said “What the hell” and went to the kitchen and got myself part of an onion and put it on my cheek. Miracle of miracles it worked. The reddness and swelling vanished…you couldn’t even see it anymore and it went away. I left my onion in the tent just in case and went to take my shower. When I came back the tent was all opened up and one of the girls said my onion had smelled up the tent so she put it outside. So funny. Oops it did!

Dinner tonight was some odd pasta thing. I wore my onion to dinner to help get rid of the spot completely. I got some odd looks, but it was worth it. Tonight is ETB(Early To Bed) night and we are just doing a campfire with marshmellows for our all camp activity. The whole camp sang songs like Fera joca and other in all the languages represented at camp. During most of this time I typed up some lesson plans and then I later joined them. I was able to finally have my camp adventure jacket to wear….the only dry and warm thing I had. After the fire the kids went to bed and we had a teamer meeting about the hike and then off to bed we went!

About Sunshine Stanfield

I am a 30 year old single female. I was born and raised in Chico,Ca. All of my life I have loved to travel. I needed to do something fresh and new....so I moved to Germany. I spent the last year traveling and exploring Europe and learning amazing things along the way. I can't wait to continue my journey again and continue to meet new and interesting people and cultures. I love to share my experiences with others and show others that when it comes to new and beautiful things in life... the discoveries are endless.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Day 12 at Camp

Leave a Reply

