Day 8 at Camp

I woke up at 8am. Hannah lost her voice today! She has been shouting a lot to enliven the kids…and it’s taken it’s toll. All my clothes are dirty or damp. It’s difficult to dry them here. I need to wash some! After breakfast we found out which projects we were assigned. I got assigned mountain biking for the 2 hour morning project with Sven! Odd. I went and asked if I could team up with Dirk for the swimming project in the afternoon as well. They assigned Dirk to help Sven and I with BMX and MTN as well. I had a beach cruiser for today. It was harder to keep up with the other bikes. It doesn’t help that it’s like 20 boys. We rode 1 and 1/2 hours and went to the lake. Fun, fun. When we got back to camp we learned they were sending our Juno to junior camp.Boo! Then we had lunch. Timi from Hungary, made Hungarian stew with her tent group of girls and we had bread. I ate with Maria’s girls today since my adopted tent group was in the kitchen. After siesta we had to get our group together to go to the swimming project. The bus was late today and we had 15 kids and two leadership going with us. While we waited the police arrived and I guess warned that 2 people had escaped from prison and to keep an eye out. Odd. A bunch of the projects decided to go the junior camp today so “we” decided to go the lake as well.  Charissa joined us today too. We saw wendy at junior camp too! The girls in the project wer not happy that we went to the lake instead of the pool. They said that it was dirty, which I agree. They were a big snotty about it.  The boys wer just rude and disrespectful and not listening. I got sternly talked to about ‘counting’ the kids in and out of the water despite the fact I had counted them several times and I was one of 3 in charge today. Oh well, don’t argue. Anyway, played in a yucky deep lake. It was exhausting. We all decided tomorrow we will go to the pool. I hope that’s easier to control. It must be hard for the junior teamers to watch all of these little ones in the lake! When we returned to camp we waited until dinner. For dinner we had a stir fry chinese noodle dish. Not my favorite, but you get what you get no other options. I’m glad I got a hot shower when I got back. So nice. Tonight we played an all camp game and led groups to various stations..or ran stations. I led a group. I had a bad day today with the lake experience and other things. I am frustrated that I can’t seem to do anything right here. I never get noticed for anything ‘awesome’ like some and it’s frustrating to feel worthless like I have nothing special to offer. I know there is the whole ‘universe’ thing, but I’ve been putting positive out there and not getting it back. Don’t know. I was irritated when I found out during the all camp game they asked another teamer to help with swimming, because “I’m not here to whole time.” So frustrating because they planned the whole project concept without me involved. I didn’t get an input. I hate that. I feel like they think I am incompetant. At the campfire I was just upset and went to bed. There was no ‘juice’ anyway. Kathy said that I talked and tossed all night in my sleep. She didn’t go to bed until 3:30am though.

About Sunshine Stanfield

I am a 30 year old single female. I was born and raised in Chico,Ca. All of my life I have loved to travel. I needed to do something fresh and new....so I moved to Germany. I spent the last year traveling and exploring Europe and learning amazing things along the way. I can't wait to continue my journey again and continue to meet new and interesting people and cultures. I love to share my experiences with others and show others that when it comes to new and beautiful things in life... the discoveries are endless.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

