Day 6 at Camp

Today, I woke up at 7:50. I love how warm my sleeping bag is! I moved my stuff over to the new tent/bed. Kids are coming today. Cata and I were assigned, after breakfast, to get stuff together that the junior camp needed. An odd assortment of things such as firewood, pens, paper, a printer….random stuff. After this I was asked to make a sign for the boys bathroom that told them “how to shower” very intersting. The first girl to arrive was “charlotte.” She was very early. Then we had lunch sandwiches and then did the washing up. The sun keeps starting to peek out a bit. I made the sign for “How to shower” like 3 times. I had to have it translated into German as well. The funny thing is they liked my stick figure drawing..so I had to scrap the writing and make the drawing bigger and the focal point. LOL. While the kids arrived I started a volleyball game. My arms are so bruised! I basically just visited with all of the kids. The majority of the kids arrived on two bus’s from Hamburg. We lined up in a line and put all of their bags on the middle of the field. Then they played the new camp song…which is dumb. It’s in German so I don’t know quite what it is even. We learned the tent groups. Juno,Charissa,Joan and I don’t have tent groups. Extra help I guess. After the kids were put in their tents we went off to dinner. We had a BBQ for the first night. There was steak, chicken,sausage, veggies, salad and potatoe hashbrowns. After dinner we had a bit of freetime until the campfire. The campfire time was spent giving rules and instructions and introducing the staff. Today, was the day, I would forever be known as “Sunshine from Paradise!”. I was introduced that way..and many thought it was a joke. Really, that was the town and not the state or country as most people were introduced by. It was funny. After the campfire the tent groups were put to bed. I didn’t have a group so I used this time to shower. HOT WATER!! Finally! It did go cold a couple times, but not bad. I had to fight through kids brushing their teeth, but it was worth it. After the kids were in bed we had a teamer meeting. It was nearly 12:30! I went straight to bed. I was woken up and hour later when Hannah came into bed. Even though I really had to pee, I refused to leave the comfort of my sleeping bag. Many of the others stayed up and “socialized” with various “games.” I didn’t need the juice. I needed sleep.

About Sunshine Stanfield

I am a 30 year old single female. I was born and raised in Chico,Ca. All of my life I have loved to travel. I needed to do something fresh and new....so I moved to Germany. I spent the last year traveling and exploring Europe and learning amazing things along the way. I can't wait to continue my journey again and continue to meet new and interesting people and cultures. I love to share my experiences with others and show others that when it comes to new and beautiful things in life... the discoveries are endless.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

