Day 3 at Camp

Today, I woke up at 6am, but went back to sleep.My back is sore! I think from the work, the heat…and the cot..perhaps. Maybe evening the dancing or the running. Feels a bit like bootcamp! I am glad I talked to Marlene today and decided to leave for the English camp near Berlin. I think I’ll go next sat and at least have on week with the kids here. I’m half sad because I am attached to this group of teamers. I just hate this camp life really. I don’t mind the kitchen, but otherwise they work you like a dog it seems. I got up at 8 or so and brushed my teeth and thenwe met with the camp song and went off to breakfast. The usual food. I don’t know what some of the meats are so that’s a little unnerving. I’m not too concerned about rotten or spoiled food, however, because they throw everything away! A bit wasteful, but safe. I helped again with the dishes and then snuck away. Today so far has been overcast and drizzly a nice reprieve, but it’s all muddy too and tents are damp and mildewy. There are sooo many flying bugs. My back is so sore! We played cat and mouse= more running, and then we learned how to deal with homesickness. It was fun/challenging. I like the overcast weather! Today, we discussed group project ideas and picked teamers to brainstorm. Then the sun came out and we spent the afternoon building the kids lounge, painting pallets, and organized and moved things. Then we finally got a dinner reprieve. We had potatoes and meat and a salad. They are setting up for a silent auction and then we will continue to work on our projects. There’s way too much work at this camp..physical labor that is..without pay. Ugh. It seems you can’t hardly be still at all without them asking what you are doing next. Not a great feeling. After dinner, we learned that English teachers are to do a seperate training and now that I am going to the other camp I have to be in that group.  We went over stuff in our binder then we had to do the silent auction and then beer and relaxing..finally. Yeah.. no shower tonight. ugh. Cold water still.

About Sunshine Stanfield

I am a 30 year old single female. I was born and raised in Chico,Ca. All of my life I have loved to travel. I needed to do something fresh and new....so I moved to Germany. I spent the last year traveling and exploring Europe and learning amazing things along the way. I can't wait to continue my journey again and continue to meet new and interesting people and cultures. I love to share my experiences with others and show others that when it comes to new and beautiful things in life... the discoveries are endless.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

