Day 2 at Camp

It was a very wet night. The rain returned. I woke up several times actually a bit hot from my sleeping bag…but wet from moisture in the air. I had to pee, but refused to get up and returned to my slumber several times. I woke up at 8:10 to get ready for breakfast at 8:30. I looked down at my backpack and saw it was unzipped and there was a slug crawling on my exposed laptop..ugh! There was also all of these bee-like flies around. I didn’t know until later that they were not bees, but there were plenty of real bees and mosquitoes as well. I went to breakfast and had cereal, yogurt, meat, etc. and then did the dishes. Today, we divided into groups and practiced creatively presenting our games to kids with each other. It was stinking hot! After this we painted..(I artistically painted a face) and cleaned and then had meat,cheese,bread,salad, and mozarella for lunch. then we did some clean-up and learned the Waka-Waka. Our camp song for teamers. Next, we played “Chuck the Chicken”. After that we discussed the program for the following weeks and learned about feedback. As a group we built the Yuta and then we had to reorganize the beds in the tents again. During a team-building game I had to face off with several people in a version of a ‘finger war’ you had to not allow the person to get their finger to your body while hand are intertwined. I ended up in the final two…and it was a draw….with a big strong guy…impressive. For dinner this night we had chili con carne with nacho chips. I like my tentmates. Kathy–is a bit lucky she has less to do as a CIT it seems..it’s funny she looks a lot like my ex-bosses neice. Catarina and Hannah are super sweet. After dinner Jan and Angie arrived and then we discussed the legal aspects of camp and treatment of kids and got our binders. Then they sent us in 3’s on a night walk without flashlights, but with a torch around the pond. I was with Adam(Aussie) and Christy(spain). After the hike we learned camp philosophy over beer and left over wedding cake..interesting…and then I showered. It starting storming and pouring rain! I went to bed early. I was so tired. Snails/slugs aren’t as bad this night…but there was a huge slug in the shower…oh and did I mention NO HOT WATER. Ack! Way to shower quickly. 🙂

About Sunshine Stanfield

I am a 30 year old single female. I was born and raised in Chico,Ca. All of my life I have loved to travel. I needed to do something fresh and new....so I moved to Germany. I spent the last year traveling and exploring Europe and learning amazing things along the way. I can't wait to continue my journey again and continue to meet new and interesting people and cultures. I love to share my experiences with others and show others that when it comes to new and beautiful things in life... the discoveries are endless.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

